City of Buried Ghosts by Chris Lloyd

Choose a shelf or add to a new one
Recommend

Recommend and receive 50% of the profit on any sale you generate

City of Buried Ghosts

Be careful what you dig up…

The atmospheric second crime thriller featuring Catalan detective Elisenda Domènech, for readers of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

Still recovering from a tragedy, Inspector Elisenda Domènech takes on a new case. Except it’s not new. On an archaeological dig by the coast a body is uncovered, seemingly executed with a spike thrust through the front of the skull – an ancient tribal ritual. It soon becomes clear that this body is neither ancient nor modern, but a mysterious corpse from the 1980s.

Assigned to the case, Elisenda soon uncovers a complex world of star archaeologists, jealousy and missing persons. They find a dark trade in illicit antiquities, riddled with vicious professional rivalries. And Elisenda is never far from enemies of her own within the police force.

Just as the case seems to become clear it is blown wide-open by another horrific murder. Elisenda must fight her personal demons whilst uncovering plots and hatreds that were long buried...

How far will she go to solve the crime? Is her place in the force secure? And can she rebuild her life?

In City of Buried Ghosts Chris Lloyd has written an utterly gripping crime story set in one of the most stunning parts of Europe.

Praise for Chris Lloyd:

A very well written and exciting murder mystery that does much more than just tickle your whodunit fancy… there are twists and turns all over the place. So many characters appear suspicious, and the final revelation of the murderer is a real surprise. This book works on so many levels and I fully recommend it.” Rosemary, Goodreads

“I loved the way the modern and the historical/mythic were inextricably entwined in the plot… Interesting characters, a rich sense of place and history, all tied together with masterful storytelling… I’m looking forward to the next in the series.” Ann, Goodreads

“I found this crime debut a thoroughly enjoyable and interesting read. When you finish a book and feel like you’ve been on holiday, well, surely that’s a very good thing indeed.” Emma, Goodreads

What a read! I immediately fell in love with Girona, its legends and Elisenda and her team. This fast-paced, complex novel had me from page one and I found myself unable to stop. The issues that the book raises call for a lot of self-questioning. How far would I agree with the actions of the killer? Could I ever agree? An absolute must-read.” LA, customer review

Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd ISBN: 9781910859841 Pages: 320