Not Just a Soldier's War by Betty Burton

Choose a shelf or add to a new one
Recommend

Recommend and receive 50% of the profit on any sale you generate

Not Just a Soldier's War

In the powerful sequel to The Girl Now Leaving, Betty Burton takes her heroine into the Spanish Civil War

Poverty and factory work have filled Lu Wilmott with a determination to make something of herself. The call to Spain is irresistible: she can live up to her ideals and finally be the woman she’s always wanted to be.

Signing up as a driver, Lu leaves her past and becomes Eve.

One of the few women in charge of heavy vehicles, faced with constant danger, she falls for Spain. But here ‘Eve’ encounters an old love. Can she find room in her stretched new life for romance?

Amidst death and disease, fear and chaos, with food running low, we find a formidable woman is formed from the spirited, naive girl who left Portsmouth…

An unforgettable and moving wartime saga, perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin, Rita Bradshaw and Rosie Archer.

Publisher: Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd ISBN: 9781788630313 Pages: 352