Surviving Galeras by Stanley Williams, Fen Montaigne

Choose a shelf or add to a new one
Recommend

Recommend and receive 50% of the profit on any sale you generate

Surviving Galeras

'"Williams's own near-death experience on Galeras drives this riveting story." — Dava Sobel, author of LONGITUDE and GALLILEO'S DAUGHTER."Galeras artfully blends science writing and history with pure, heart-pounding action, captur[ing] the thrill of science on the edge."—Mark Bowden, author of the NY Times bestseller, BLACK HAWK DOWN"Frightening and fascinating . . . expertly narrated account of natural mayhem, in the tradition of Into Thin Air and The Perfect Storm." —starred review Kirkus Reviews with Pointers"Artfully written" Publishers Weekly"Williams' account remains the better read, thanks to the firsthand narrative and able assistance from coauthor Fen Montaigne." —Forbes"'Surviving Galeras' does a masterful job of evoking the volcano's deadly lure." Boston Globe"A gripping worm's-eye view of being caught in a volcanic eruption with a fascinating overview of horrific eruptions through history." The Oregonian'
'"Williams's own near-death experience on Galeras drives this riveting story." — Dava Sobel, author of LONGITUDE and GALLILEO'S DAUGHTER."Galeras artfully blends science writing and history with pure, heart-pounding action, captur[ing] the thrill of science on the edge."—Mark Bowden, author of the NY Times bestseller, BLACK HAWK DOWN"Frightening and fascinating . . . expertly narrated account of natural mayhem, in the tradition of Into Thin Air and The Perfect Storm." —starred review Kirkus Reviews with Pointers"Artfully written" Publishers Weekly"Williams' account remains the better read, thanks to the firsthand narrative and able assistance from coauthor Fen Montaigne." —Forbes"'Surviving Galeras' does a masterful job of evoking the volcano's deadly lure." Boston Globe"A gripping worm's-eye view of being caught in a volcanic eruption with a fascinating overview of horrific eruptions through history." The Oregonian'
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt ISBN: 9780547630625 Pages: 288