Wynne's War: A Novel by Aaron Gwyn

Choose a shelf or add to a new one
Recommend

Recommend and receive 50% of the profit on any sale you generate

Wynne's War: A Novel

'"A hard-eyed depiction of modern warfare leavened slightly by its Western spirit, Gwyn's novel is rich in equestrian and military detail . . . it'd take wild horses to pull you away. B+" —Entertainment Weekly"The book’s pacing is cinematic, and it echoes adrenalized silver-screen war stories like Three Kings and The Hurt Locker, as well as the gentler cross-species concerns of The Horse Whisperer." — John Williams, The New York Times"Gwyn depicts the eventful mission with tight dramatic control and a flair for suspenseful twists. His cleverest touch is to transplant the vintage conventions of the Western into his battle pieces . . . 'Wynne's War' evokes John Ford’s 'The Searchers,' and the same ambiguities that surround John Wayne’s ruthlessly single-minded Ethan Edwards come to define Wynne." —The Wall Street Journal"A straightforward, tautly written soldier’s tale where military goal, leadership, character, battlefield friendship and the degree of acceptable human sacrifice are the main concerns.”  —The Chicago Tribune's Printers Row Journal"A work of narrative alchemy, Aaron Gwyn’s ambitious second novel, “Wynne’s War,” is a prose smelter brimming with horses, soldiers, heroism, villainy, horrific violence and unexpected tenderness…The real wonder of this novel, though, is that it’s also a page-turning romp… There’s entertainment aplenty and characters whose lives are real enough to have been lived. If you find tear stains on your shoulders when you turn the last page, they are likely yours, shed out of the sadness that only comes when you wish there were pages left to turn." – Houston Chronicle"Gwyn’s (Dog on the Cross) story is a gripping tale of men at war in the desolate snow-capped mountains of eastern Afghanistan, and captures the essence of close combat—the terror, excitement, chaos, tension, and cruelty, as well as the harsh decisions men make under stress . . . its gritty realism is part of the strength." — Publishers Weekly, starred review"The book pulsates with a verisimilitude that places readers in the war-torn mountains of Afghanistan . . . Many folks have wondered when American authors would begin producing memorable fiction about the Iraq-Afghanistan wars; with this well-researched, heart-pounding novel, Gwyn stakes his claim." - Library Journal"Gwyn’s combat scenes are realistic, meticulous, and passionate…" — Booklist"This novel feels like Cormac McCarthy meets Tim O’Brien. I could not stop reading it." — Philipp Meyer, author of The Son“Wynne's War is a deep and beautifully written story of men, war, and madness, told by a young American master. A page-turner of poetic and savage grace, of our time but transcending it, this novel takes its rightful place among the great American literature of war.” — Nic Pizzolatto, author of Galveston, creator of HBO's True Detective"I haven’t had this much fun as a reader in a long time. Wynne's War is a great adventure story, impeccably researched, masterfully plotted, with chapters that blur by like a hail of bullets." — Benjamin Percy, author of Red Moon"Wynne’s War combines two of America’s great literary genres, the Western and the war story, brilliantly.  This taut, elegant, beautiful novel takes us straight to the tension at the heart of combat decision-making:  mission or men." — Nathaniel Fick, author of One Bullet Away“Propellant storytelling in the tradition of McCarthy and Conrad. A gripping morality tale told with bristling exactitude.” – Paul Lynch, author of Red Sky in Morning'
'"A hard-eyed depiction of modern warfare leavened slightly by its Western spirit, Gwyn's novel is rich in equestrian and military detail . . . it'd take wild horses to pull you away. B+" —Entertainment Weekly"The book’s pacing is cinematic, and it echoes adrenalized silver-screen war stories like Three Kings and The Hurt Locker, as well as the gentler cross-species concerns of The Horse Whisperer." — John Williams, The New York Times"Gwyn depicts the eventful mission with tight dramatic control and a flair for suspenseful twists. His cleverest touch is to transplant the vintage conventions of the Western into his battle pieces . . . 'Wynne's War' evokes John Ford’s 'The Searchers,' and the same ambiguities that surround John Wayne’s ruthlessly single-minded Ethan Edwards come to define Wynne." —The Wall Street Journal"A straightforward, tautly written soldier’s tale where military goal, leadership, character, battlefield friendship and the degree of acceptable human sacrifice are the main concerns.”  —The Chicago Tribune's Printers Row Journal"A work of narrative alchemy, Aaron Gwyn’s ambitious second novel, “Wynne’s War,” is a prose smelter brimming with horses, soldiers, heroism, villainy, horrific violence and unexpected tenderness…The real wonder of this novel, though, is that it’s also a page-turning romp… There’s entertainment aplenty and characters whose lives are real enough to have been lived. If you find tear stains on your shoulders when you turn the last page, they are likely yours, shed out of the sadness that only comes when you wish there were pages left to turn." – Houston Chronicle"Gwyn’s (Dog on the Cross) story is a gripping tale of men at war in the desolate snow-capped mountains of eastern Afghanistan, and captures the essence of close combat—the terror, excitement, chaos, tension, and cruelty, as well as the harsh decisions men make under stress . . . its gritty realism is part of the strength." — Publishers Weekly, starred review"The book pulsates with a verisimilitude that places readers in the war-torn mountains of Afghanistan . . . Many folks have wondered when American authors would begin producing memorable fiction about the Iraq-Afghanistan wars; with this well-researched, heart-pounding novel, Gwyn stakes his claim." - Library Journal"Gwyn’s combat scenes are realistic, meticulous, and passionate…" — Booklist"This novel feels like Cormac McCarthy meets Tim O’Brien. I could not stop reading it." — Philipp Meyer, author of The Son“Wynne's War is a deep and beautifully written story of men, war, and madness, told by a young American master. A page-turner of poetic and savage grace, of our time but transcending it, this novel takes its rightful place among the great American literature of war.” — Nic Pizzolatto, author of Galveston, creator of HBO's True Detective"I haven’t had this much fun as a reader in a long time. Wynne's War is a great adventure story, impeccably researched, masterfully plotted, with chapters that blur by like a hail of bullets." — Benjamin Percy, author of Red Moon"Wynne’s War combines two of America’s great literary genres, the Western and the war story, brilliantly.  This taut, elegant, beautiful novel takes us straight to the tension at the heart of combat decision-making:  mission or men." — Nathaniel Fick, author of One Bullet Away“Propellant storytelling in the tradition of McCarthy and Conrad. A gripping morality tale told with bristling exactitude.” – Paul Lynch, author of Red Sky in Morning'
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt ISBN: 9780544230323 Pages: 256