Jane Rule, writer of “Desert of the Heart” and other lesbian novels”

Probably in this time Jane Rule gets most fame as the author of the novel at the base of one of the most popular lesbian movies: “Desert Hearts”. This movie is often being played on lesbian film festivals and lost little of its original success through the years.

The book “Desert of the Heart” was published in 1964 but only after 22 rejections from publishers.  It tells about the love between Ann and Evelyn not without the struggle against the homosexual taboo by the latter.  Ann and Evelyn are two completely opposite characters.  Their occupying says enough: Ann is a 25 years old cartoonist working in a casino and Evelyn is a 15 year older college teacher of English.  At the end, Evelyn capitulates but then Ann seems already thinking about conquering a new lover.  Nevertheless, Evelyn knows how to win her for the idea to stay together.

Here is the complete bibliography:
Desert of the Heart (1964)
This Is Not for You (1970)
Against the Season (1971)
Lesbian Images (1975)
Theme for Diverse Instruments (1975)
The Young in One Another’s Arms (1977)
Contract With the World (1980)
Outlander (1981)
Inland Passage and Other Stories (1985)
A Hot-Eyed Moderate (1985)
Memory Board (1987)
After the Fire (1989)
“Loving the Difficult” (2008)
Taking My Life (2011)

Leave a Reply